Who or what is Stellography?

Stellography is a place we share our stories, to encourage each and every family to 'reach for the stars'; to aspire to a goal together that strengthens them. Find what your family passion is and go with that.


Since going overseas when I (Electra) was an exchange student I have been touched by the concept that wherever we are in the world, we are never far away from those we love, if we are able to look up into the night sky.

The stars in it are what the ancients navigated our planet by – what led them on their journeys of discovery, and they are the same stars today that embellish the heavens and reflect down on the places that our friends and extended family are when we are apart from them.

So it is fitting that seeing this is/was our family travel site, we have chosen to embrace 7 stars in the majestic heavens as our identities.

Let me introduce you to the stars of the show:


I am a father to five, husband to one, and must be called a jack-of-all-trades, as am master of none!

My geekery is bound-less, as I have self taught skills in computer operating systems, applications, hardware, and programming...whilst never getting bored of what I do. These days I am focussed on the web programming in the open source stack of PHP, javascript, HTML, and MySQL.

My artistic side means that I can often be found frustrated behind a canvas, trying to realise the image that is in my head with oil paints.

I went gluten-free from December 2012 - September 2014, took a course of probiotics and am eating 'normal' food again.

There is a faith in Jesus that underpins my life, yet I am not religious; in fact I would prefer man-made religions went the way of the dodo. Your faith is between you and God, and not my business to judge. It is my job instead to love; not that I am a good example of my job!

This life journey for me is one of breaking down the barriers that impede me, including depression, and going on to share life with those God has graciously placed around me.

WANTS TO VISIT: Iceland, and return to Denmark.




intelligent, organised, practical, creative & strong; mum, wife and person.

I keep wishing that I could spend more quality time being present with my children, and be able to give them choices and some extra opportunities in life that money could buy. Sometimes I wish that I didn't have to be so strong and could 'stop the world' so I could get off for a bit.

My desire for our trip was to be able to discover and blossom into more of who I am; and for our family to bond more positively with each other because a family is for life.  Um... not sure that happened unless crises are synonomus with positive growth.

I hoped to get more time to knit, sew, crochet, read, learn to play guitar, learn German, take photographs, and try new things.  The reality was that I knitted up the yarn I took with me into beanies to give away as I didn't have the inclination all 17 months to knit the boys the jumpers that the yarn was carted to the other side of the year for; I sewed up only clothes needing repairs; didn't crochet; read maps / tourist brochures & books; didn't even take a guitar; DID need to learn more of the language; DID document our days via pictures rather more than text; and DID try new things.

I've volunteered with a variety of community organisations since 1999, and served in positions as trustee, secretary, co-ordinator, chairperson, trainer/mentor & representative.

I like blue, sapphires, clean lines, the shape of roses, minimalism, & silver. I'm a first-born INTJ/INFJ; who believes we need to watch what we put into our mind & body; and thinks that nanna knew a few things using baking soda and vinegar for cleaning.  I don't like 'boxes' or 'labels' unless they are genuinely helpful but understand it's easier for people if I use them.

My anthems at the moment oscillate between Kutless's "Winds of Change" and "Good to be Alive" by Jason Gray.

WANTS TO VISIT: Anywhere, everywhere, somewhere! Return to Denmark, go with my darling husband to Iceland, spend a week or so in Andorra, wend our way into some of the Eastern European countries, maybe be brave enough to visit South-East Asia and have always been entranced by Venezuela (perhaps it was the 'v' and 'z' in the same word ?!) .



is our eldest daughter, who is soooo very creative. She was my (Electra's) right-hand-woman: - a competent cook & sibling-sitter when she was not finishing her home learning assignments, being forced to tidy her room or poring over fashion books or quality literature. She left our family O.E. early to return home and started studying Fashion design.




is our youngest daughter, who shines when she wants to. She likes dancing to Deliverance, and eating. She has battled with health and well-being issues since she was 2 and a half.  One of her favourite places is on her bed reading a book (her favourites are mangas). She's a fan of Markiplier, Jacksepticeye and is currently into watching YouTube.

WANTS TO VISIT: Ireland, Finland and Iceland, (return to) Sweden and Denmark.




is our middle son. He likes Lego, playing Angry Birds, playing outside, making noise (which includes bodily functions), and riding his bike. He doesn't like tidying his room. 




is our oldest son. He is considerate, and thoughtful; likes Lego and Angry Birds, and playing with toys. I am not sure whether he would have a clean room if he was on his own or not.  He is good at calculating numbers.  He likes making jokes.

WANTS TO VISIT: Greece, Rome, & USA.



The youngest boy and no longer really the 'baby' of the family. We all love him to pieces, and he has brought out the best in his siblings too.  He is happy wherever there is food; planes, diggers, emergency vehicles, tractors or anything else with wheels on it.  He liked living in the caravan; and likes playing all sorts of games.

WANTS TO VISIT: Outside! Austria, Denmark, Germany, and U.S.A.


  What are they doing?


Avatar credit: FaceYourManga.com